Assigning and creating User Roles

User roles are used in Projectworks to dictate what access your people have to the different parts of your environment. This page outlines creating custom user roles, assigning, and changing roles.

Default user roles.

When your Projectworks environment is created there are default user roles to act as a starting point for your organisation. You can alter these as required, delete the ones you don't want, alter the level of access, or create new ones.


Editing user roles.

Step 1:

Click on the settings cog on the bottom left-hand side:

Step 2:

Click on "Roles" near the top of the screen:

Step 3:

Click on the three horizontal dots to the right of the User Role. This will give you the ability to:
- Edit this User Role (change the name and description)
- Delete this User Role (remove it from the system, can only happen if no one is assigned to that role)
- Assign Service Points (Brings up an extensive list of all the access points a person could be given, if you're unsure about assigning the various points contact us for assistance)


Adding user roles.

Follow Steps 1 and 2 above.

Step 3.

Click on the blue + button on the top right-hand side of the screen:

Step 4.

Give your new user role a name and description and click "Create User Role".

Once you have created a user role, you will then need to assign service points to it.


Assigning or editing a user's role.

User roles can be assigned to a person in two different places; when creating the user's profile or through the admin settings by clicking:

 

and then